Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Recent changes.

From this September, the Government has completely revised the framework under which Early Year providers (who care for children age 0-5) operate from September 2021. Below is a summary of what is involved, for those parents new to Early Years, and for parents who may not be aware that the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework is changing.

What Is the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework is a government document that all schools and Ofsted-registered early year’s providers in England must follow. It sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. The standards ensure your child will learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It comprises of two parts: the Statutory Framework, which lays out the rules and regulations that all Early Years providers must adhere to, thus ensuring your child’s safety and Development Matters, which is the (non-statutory) curriculum guidance to help practitioners plan your child’s leaning and development.

What Will My Child Be Learning?

The EYFS framework outlines seven areas of learning and development and educational programs. There are three prime areas of learning, which are particularly important for your child’s development and future learning:

Communication and Language

Personal, social and emotional development

Physical Development

There are four specific areas of learning, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied



Understanding the World

Expressive arts and design

The EYFS framework identifies the essential role of play in your child’s development. It is through both child-led play and play guided by an adult that your child will develop confidence and relationships with others. Through play, our staff will help your child to extend their vocabulary and develop their communication skills and through careful planning, your child’s key worker will help your child progress with their learning & development. The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of effective teaching and learning. These are: Creating & thinking Critically, Playing & Exploring and Active Learning. As staff get to know your child, by using these, they are better able to understand and support how your child learns.

Our staff will use their professional knowledge to understand your child’s level of development. If we have any concerns about your child’s progress, we will discuss these with you.

Three formal assessments take place throughout the whole of the EYFS:
• Two-Year Progress Check (this will happen between the ages of 24 to 36 months and may have been completed by your early years provider already) if not and your child has not yet turned 3, this will be completed by Pre-school.
• Reception Baseline Assessment (at the start of the Reception year)
• Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (at the end of the EYFS)

While at Pre-school, your child’s Key Worker will get to know your child and plan their development under the EYFS curriculum and record your child’s time at Pre-school within their Learning Journal.

The changes to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) has been reformed and there is a new EYFS framework that all schools and settings are required to follow from September 2021. These national changes have been made to better support all children’s learning and development.

There are some elements of the EYFS that have not significantly changed and some that have. Below are some of the key points from the new EYFS reforms that include relevant changes:

• Early Years staff are no longer required to provide large amounts of written observations and assessments. This means they can spend more time supporting and engaging with the children and their learning and development needs.

• Pupils will no longer be assessed against statements from an age band category. Instead, staff will use their experience and knowledge to monitor if a child’s learning and development is on track for their age.

• The early learning goals at the end of reception have been changed to become more clear and easier to understand. When in Reception, their staff will use their judgements to assess whether children have met these goals at the end of the EYFS and inform parents/carers.

• There is an emphasis on improving pupil’s language and vocabulary through increasing opportunities for conversations, reading of a wide range of books and holding discussions around activities in other areas of learning.

• Literacy and numeracy skills focused on in the EYFS have been adapted to better match up with the National Curriculum that starts in year 1.

• There is no longer an exceeding judgement at the end of Reception. At this time, pupils will instead be challenged to have a greater depth and understanding of ideas.

• Safeguarding and welfare of all children is still the upmost priority, with the added mention of teaching pupils about the importance of good oral health and how to keep teeth clean and healthy.

Should you wish to read about any of this in greater detail, please use the link below to download and read the Early Years Foundation Stage “Development Matters”, which is the curriculum guidance given by the Government.

Early Years Foundation Stage “Development Matters”